USGS - science for a changing world

U.S. Geological Survey - The National Map User Engagement

Home                     User Engagement

Skip Links

User Engagement Home
Chief, User Engagement
David Saghy David Saghy; Chief
Reston, VA
703-648-5954
dsaghy@usgs.gov

About User Engagement
The National Map partnership network cultivates and maintains long-term relationships with partners and develops agreements for The National Map and other initiatives that support USGS science. Partnerships are the foundation of The National Map because they leverage funding across organizations as a way to provide significant cost savings, reduce redundancy in geospatial data acquisition and stewardship, and ensure the availability of common base data to a broad range of users and applications.

An addition to the longstanding partnership functions of The National Map is an emerging initiative to systematically reach out to priority user communities. The goal of user engagement is to gather feedback on the products and services of The National Map so that future development will best meet USGS and Department of the Interior science objectives and provide the greatest value and impact for the Nation. Priority user communities include Geologic Mapping, Geologic Hazards, Natural Resources Conservation, and Water Resources.

The National Map partner and user engagement activities are conducted by a network of liaisons and coordinators:

  • User Engagement leadership in the National Geospatial Program provides strategic direction and oversight to the range of The National Map partnership and user activities.

  • Federal Geospatial Liaisons work with the Federal Geographic Data Committee and other Federal agencies to develop and manage partnerships at the national and programmatic level to support development and use of The National Map.

  • Community of Use Coordinators lead and manage outreach to the priority user communities of The National Map; they also provide direction and guidance to USGS National Map Liaisons for expanding user outreach.

  • Alaska Mapping Project Manager coordinates National Geospatial Program efforts to modernize mapping for the State of Alaska.

  • The National Map Liaisons facilitate partnerships and agreements that improve the data holdings and the products and services of The National Map. Many liaisons also provide outreach and support to the priority user communities in the areas of Water Resources, Natural Resources Conservation and Geologic Mapping and Hazards.

  • Associates are part-time liaisons who support both partnerships and user engagement and provide linkages to USGS science centers.

Contact User Engagement
 align=
The National Map Liaisons and Associate Liaisons - 2016



NGP - User Engagement Contact Information - 2016

User Engagement
David Saghy Reston, VA (703) 648-5954 dsaghy@usgs.gov Chief, NGP User Engagement
Steve Aichele New Cumberland, PA (717) 730-6949 saichele@usgs.gov Coordinator for Water Resources COU
Lance Clampitt Bozeman, MT (406) 994-6919 lsclampitt@usgs.gov Coordinator for Geologic Mapping and Hazards COU and NGP Emergency Management
Tracy Fuller Denver, CO (303) 202-4532 tfuller@usgs.gov Alaska Mapping Program Manager
Greg Matthews Denver, CO (303) 202-4446 gdmatthews@usgs.gov Coordinator for Natural Resources Conservation COU
Brigitta Urban-Mathieux Reston, VA (703) 648-5175 burbanma@usgs.gov Federal Liaison
Sherry Durst Denver, CO (303) 236-5408 sldurst@usgs.gov Project Manager



The National Map Liaisons
NameLocationPhoneEmailNational Map Liaison for State(s)COU
Roger Barlow Reston, VA (703) 648-5189 rbarlow@usgs.gov DC, DE, MD, NJ WR
Tom Carlson Tacoma, WA (253) 552-1682 tcarlson@usgs.gov WA, OR, ID GMH
Chris Cretini Lafayette, LA (337) 266-8621 cretinic@usgs.gov LA, AR NRC
Drew Decker San Diego, CA (619) 225-6430 ddecker@usgs.gov AZ, CA, HI, Pacific Basin WR
Claire DeVaughan Austin, TX (512) 927-3583 cdevaugh@usgs.gov TX, OK NRC
Lou Driber Tallahassee, FL (850) 727-0496 ldriber@usgs.gov FL, PR, USVI NRC
Douglas Freehafer Troy, NY (518) 285-5620 dfreehaf@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - NY WR
Carol Giffin Denver, CO (303) 236-5436 clgiffin@usgs.gov CO, NM NRC
George Heleine Jackson, MS (601) 933-2950 gheleine@usgs.gov MS, AL, GA, TN WR
Charles Hickman Columbus, OH (614) 430-7768 chickman@usgs.gov MI, OH NRC
Scott Hoffman New Cumberland, PA (717) 730-6945 shoffman@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - PA WR
Jim Langtry Lincoln, NE (402) 328-4128 jlangtry@usgs.gov NE, IA, KS NRC
David Nail Indianapolis, IN (317) 600-2722 dnail@usgs.gov IN, KY, IL, MO WR
Craig Neidig Charleston, WV (304) 347-5130 x237 cneidig@usgs.gov NY, PA, VA, WV GMH
Lin Neifert Pembroke, NH (802) 522-8275 lineifert@usgs.gov NH, VT, CT NRC
Carol Ostergren Sacramento, CA (916) 278-9510 costergren@usgs.gov CA, NV GMH
Steve Shivers Rapid City, SD (605) 394-3216 spshivers@usgs.gov SD, ND, MT, WY NRC
Pete Steeves Northborough, MA (508) 490-5054 psteeves@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - MA, RI WR
Silvia Terziotti Raleigh, NC (919) 571-4090 seterzio@usgs.gov Associate Liaison - NC, SC WR
David Vincent Salt Lake City, UT (801) 975-3435 dmvincent@usgs.gov UT, USDA Forest Service GSTC NRC
Dan Walters Augusta, ME (207) 626-6628 danwalters@usgs.gov MA, ME, RI WR
Ron Wencl Mounds View, MN (763) 783-3207 rwencl@usgs.gov MN, WI WR
Brian Wright Anchorage, AK (907) 786-7479 bwright@usgs.gov AK Alaska Activities


 Free document viewers: Adobe Reader | Microsoft Word | Microsoft Excel | Microsoft Powerpoint
 

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: http://liaisons.usgs.gov/geospatial/index.html
Page Contact Information: The National Map
Page Last Modified: Monday, 07-Nov-2016 12:17:15 EST